We are so excited to host the RRCA Half Marathon Championship race in 2017. We have worked hard as a running club to highlight the best of running local in Dallas and can’t wait to share it with you again.
For those of us in Dallas, we love White Rock Lake. It is a beautiful lake and running trail that has been the home of Dallas Running Club since 1969. Four years ago, we chose to create a medal series showcasing six popular and well-loved landmarks. This year, though, it’s only appropriate that the landmark to be celebrated is the Big Thicket.
Why the Big Thicket?
The Big Thicket recreation building is another Civilian Conservation Corps project of the 1930s. For many years, bicycles could be rented here for riding around the lake. Today’s White Rock Lake cyclists (and there are plenty of them) have to bring their own.
On the lawn of the recreation building, overlooking the lake, a comfortable bench and a plaque inset in concrete commemorates Dean L. Eige (1936-1994) and paraphrases a quote by humorist Will Rogers. It reads: “He never ran a mile he didn’t like.”
A plaque donated by the Cross County Club of Dallas (now known as the Dallas Running Club) in 1991 is attached to the building itself. It commemorates Captain Talmage H. Morrison, U.S.N. Retired, founder of the Cross Country Club of Dallas and the Dallas White Rock Marathon.
We would like to think that Tal will be with us as we celebrate this building, this lake and this race.